Cold Tonnage Books
Cold Tonnage Books
Cold Tonnage Books

Quick Search

Advanced Search
Visa MasterCard Switch

Wonderworlds (presentation copy from the author)., Nolan,  William F.

Author Name    Nolan, William F.

Title   Wonderworlds (presentation copy from the author).

Binding   Hardcover.

Book Condition   Fine copy in an almost fine dustjacket with a little light creasing along the edges.

Edition   First edition (& 1st printing).

Publisher    Victor Gollancz: London. 1977.

ISBN Number    0575022485 / 9780575022485

Inscription   Signed

Seller ID   00865

Collects ''The Party (a teleplay) and twenty stories, including science fiction and dark fantasy, ''He Kilt It with a Stick,'' ''The Underdweller,'' ''Dead Call'' and others, plus ''Fasterfaster!'' (a James Bond parody). WARMLY INSCRIBED AND SIGNED BY THE AUTHOR ON THE FRONT FREE ENDPAPER/''Gary me pal! This one was never published in the US - only in England - and it will give you an idea of what my shorter SF fiction is like''. Additionally signed in full on the title page. Additionally the author has added, at the bottom of the contents page, ''''my first story sale, in '54'', with ''first'' underlined, and an arrow pointing to the last story on the contents page, ''The Joy Of Living''.

''US author and editor who trained and for a time practised as a commercial artist; he also raced cars, publishing several books on the subject. Nolan first became active in sf Fandom in the 1950s, cofounding the San Diego Science Fantasy Society, editing a Fanzine, the Rhodomagnetic Digest, publishing The Ray Bradbury Review, and serving as managing editor of #1-#3 of Gamma (1963-1964). He published his first sf story, ''The Joy of Living'', in If in 1954, subsequently writing some short stories and criticism as by Frank Anmar and F E Edwards. He became a full-time writer in 1956. Of his more than fifty books since then, at least thirty have related directly to sf or fantasy. His first sf book, Impact 20 (1963), assembles some early work. His second, for which he remains best known, Logan's Run (1967) with George Clayton Johnson, begins the Logan sequence, which continued with Logan's World (1977) and Logan's Search (1980), both by Nolan alone'' (John Clute & Peter Nicholls/Encyclopedia of SF, 3rd Edition).

Price = 125.00 GBP

Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to
Copyright©2018. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by