Yearwood (and) Undersea (and) Winterking: The Finnbranch Trilogy.

By: Hazel, Paul

Price: £30.00

Quantity: 1 available

Three fantasy volumes.

''whose Finnbranch sequence presents again and again, in cyclical form, versions of the birth, heroic adulthood and death of a hero named Finn. Though much of the imagery accompanying and intensifying the reiterations of Finn's life-course derives from Celtic fantasy, and inevitably relates to the Fin MacCool cycle, the sequence is in no clear sense obedient to any single underlying Northernstory, Celtic or Arthurian or Teutonic, though elements from these and other cycles appear throughout. Over the course of the first two volumes, which are both set in otherworld-tinged Celtic landscapes, Finn undergoes several of the metamorphoses typical of Celtic fantasy at its most unrelenting. In the third volume, told in the guise of an alternate world tale set in a displaced 20th-century USA, Finn surfaces into a more socialized world but remains tied to the wheel of the central story that arguably generates heroic cycles: the threshhold-crossing wheel of life that turns birth into triumph into death and (in some traditions) into birth again. The language throughout is strikingly intense, allusive, dislocatingly dreamlike, vivid.. The Finnbranch series operates at a level of originality rarely found in fantasy'' (John Clute/ENCYCLOPEDIA OF FANTASY).

Title: Yearwood (and) Undersea (and) Winterking: The Finnbranch Trilogy.

Author Name: Hazel, Paul

Categories: Other,

Edition: First editions.

Publisher: Atlantic Monthly Press: NY.: 1980-85.

Binding: Hardcovers.

Grading: First two volumes are fine in fine dustjacket (as new), the third is fine in VG+ dustjacket with shallow chipping to top spine edge.

Inscription: Signed

Seller ID: 03700