The Hour Of The Thin Ox.

By: Greenland, Colin

Price: £8.00

Quantity: 1 available

SF novel.

''he began to publish fiction of genre interest with ''Miss Otis Regrets'' for Fiction Magazine in 1982, and soon published his first three fantasy novels - Daybreak on a Different Mountain (1984), THE HOUR OF THE THIN OX (1987) and Other Voices (1988) - which make up a very loose series, mainly through being set in the same austerely depicted Fantasyland. Because so much of his work borrows moods and idioms from earlier work, interrogating that earlier work in the process, almost all of his earlier fiction can be thought of as revisionist fantasy, even where models may be hard to pin down. Fittingly, the first volume of the loose sequence not only is in this sense a parody of fantasy but actually describes what might be called a parody of Quest - two aristocrats are sent to find the prophet of the god Gomath, both of them needing to deny that either is in fact that prophet, to no avail. One turns out to be the prophet, and the other, having developed Talents, the god'' (John Clute/Encyclopedia of Fantasy).

Title: The Hour Of The Thin Ox.

Author Name: Greenland, Colin

Categories: Other,

Edition: First edition (& 1st printing).

Publisher: Unwin Hyman: London.: 1987.

ISBN Number: 0048233412

ISBN Number 13: 9780048233417

Binding: Hardcover.

Grading: Fine copy in a fine dustjacket (as new).

Seller ID: 04478