The Judgement of Eve.

By: Pangborn, Edgar

Price: £20.00

Quantity: 1 available

''his most successful and sustained work, the Davy sequence, comprising, by rough internal chronology, The Company of Glory (coll of linked stories 1975), most of the stories assembled in Still I Persist in Wondering (coll 1978), the loosely related THE JUDGEMENT OF EVE (1966), and Davy (fixup 1964). The sequence is set in a USA devastated by a nuclear holocaust, whose immediate consequences dominate - at times harshly - the first volumes. By the time of Davy's birth, 250 years later, the land has long been balkanized into feudal enclaves, rather romantically conceived, and Davy's picaresque adventures (which he recounts in retirement) generate what might be called a kind of nostalgia for a livable future, though at the same time it is clear that Davy, and those he inspires, will necessarily begin to rebuild a more complex world. Set in the same universe, THE JUDGEMENT OF EVE (1966) is less convincingly constructed in mythopoeic terms, as Eve tries to choose among the lifestyles of her disparate male suitors. The trek on which she consequently sends them, in order to find out the meaning of love, probably represents the deepest of the author's frequent descents into distinctly uneasy bombast. When, however, he was able to control himself'' (John Clute/Encyclopedia of SF).

Title: The Judgement of Eve.

Author Name: Pangborn, Edgar

Categories: Other,

Edition: First edition (& 1st printing).

Publisher: Simon & Schuster: NY.: 1966.

Binding: Hardcover.

Grading: Fine copy in a VG+ dustjacket.

Seller ID: 06981