The Bromius Phenomenon.

By: Rankine, John (aka Douglas R. Mason)

Price: £12.00

Quantity: 1 available

SF novel. First published as an Ace paperback original in 1973.

''(1918-2013) UK junior-school headmaster and prolific author after 1964, both under his own name and as John Rankine (Rankine being his middle name). His first story was ''Two's Company'' as by Rankine in John Carnell's New Writings in SF 1 (1964), and he was soon publishing two to three books a year, focusing under the Rankine name on generally routine Space Operas and other adventures. The Dag Fletcher series of Space Operas as by Rankine, was initiated in his first book, The Blockade of Sinitron: Four Adventures of Dag Fletcher (coll of linked stories 1966), and continued with Interstellar Two-Five (1966), One is One (1968), The Plantos Affair (1971), The Ring of Garamas (1972) and THE BROMIUS PHENOMENON (1973). The series is set in a galactic environment shared by other Rankine titles including The Fingalnan Conspiracy (1973) and The Thorburn Enterprise (1977). As Rankine he also wrote several Ties to Space: 1999 (1975-1977). Occasionally, under his own name - as with From Carthage then I Came (1966; vt Eight Against Utopia 1967), Matrix (1970), The Phaeton Condition (1973) and Pitman's Progress (1976) - Mason would attempt more ambitious novels containing some social comment; some of these would be set in a sometimes disguised Wirral, near Liverpool'' (John Clute/Encyclopedia of SF, 3rd Edition).

Title: The Bromius Phenomenon.

Author Name: Rankine, John (aka Douglas R. Mason)

Categories: Other,

Edition: First hardcover edition (& 1st printing).

Publisher: Dennis Dobson: London.: 1976.

ISBN Number: 0234770732

ISBN Number 13: 9780234770733

Binding: Hardcover.

Grading: Fine copy in a fine dustjacket (as new).

Seller ID: 07952