Chung Kuo 7: Days Of Bitter Strength.

By: Wingrove, David

Price: £20.00

Quantity: 1 available

Grading: Page edges browning, else a fine copy in an almost fine dustjacket.

Seventh book in the eight book Chung Kuo sf/fantasy series. Very uncommon UK hardcover.

''his enormous Chung Kuo eight volume series, comprising The Middle Kingdom (1989), The Broken Wheel (1990), The White Mountain (1991), The Stone Within (1992), Beneath the Tree of Heaven (1993) and White Moon, Red Dragon (1994). DAYS OF BITTER STRENGTH (1995) and (finally) The Marriage Of The living Dark (1996). Set in a 22nd- and 23rd-century Earth dominated by a monolithic Chinese hegemony which has successfully stymied all technological development, the sequence elaborately delineates a stalled and static culture, preparing the scene for a radical transformation of the world; the early volumes, perhaps consequently, are stronger as dynastic history than as sf'' (John Clute/Encyclopedia of SF). ''in the spring of 2232, long-denied hopes for a more humane world become manifest in the red-roofed houses of ''China on the Rhine''. There, Emily Ascher, once a freedom fighter, now lives as Mama Em, mother to the orphan boys of a war-devastated land. But unto the people of Chung Kuo, two children will be born: ''Coffin Filler'', a baby girl smothered and thrown away but not yet dead, and Josef, a baby boy delivered into a hostile land, yet determined to fight for his life. They are part of a new generation who will see more death than any who have gone before. Although peace seems to reign, the puppet master of an army of giant androids, DeVore, plans one final, absolute destruction. And although the great T'ang, the dictators of Earth, are gone, the mega corporation called GenSyn remains. And soon its pleasure drug called ''Golden Dreams'' will make Chung Kuo a funeral pyre for golden corpses - until the only escape lies in sending the survivors toward new stars ... or joining Emily Ascher in a battle for liberty and a new Earth''

Title: Chung Kuo 7: Days Of Bitter Strength.

Author Name: Wingrove, David

Categories: Other,

Edition: First edition (& 1st printing).

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton: London.: 1995.

ISBN Number: 0450564177

ISBN Number 13: 9780450564178

Binding: Hardcover.

Grading: Page edges browning, else a fine copy in an almost fine dustjacket.

Seller ID: 23275