By: Barringer, Leslie

Price: £10.00

Quantity: 1 available

Grading: Fine copy in a near fine dustjacket.

Classic fantasy novel first published by William Heinemann in 1927: first in a trilogy, followed by JORIS OF THE ROCK (1928) and SHY LEOPARDESS (1948).

''(1895-1968) UK editor and writer whose Neustria Cycle GERFALCON (1927), Joris of the Rock (1928) and Shy Leopardess (1948) - depicts events in a Land of Fable, an imaginary French province in an alternate world. The basic premise, vaguely presented, is that the Merovingian Dynasty does not split apart c AD 750; instead, Neustria survives, and at the time of the three tales (c AD 1400) is still thriving. Each tale follows a young man or woman through physical and moral perils into adulthood. Of the three protagonists, Yolande of Baraine - the Shy Leopardess of the third novel - is perhaps the most interesting, as she successfully gambles her life (her ''virtue''does not last the course) to gain autonomy in a male-dominated world. The sequence's alternate-world displacement serves not as an opening for magic but as a freeing of the author' imagination; the Neustria Cycle is far more intense and eloquent than his more straightforward historical novels'' (John Clute/Encyclopedia of Fantasy).

Title: Gerfalcon.

Author Name: Barringer, Leslie

Categories: Other,

Publisher: Tom Stacey: London.: 1973.

ISBN Number: 085468347X

ISBN Number 13: 9780854683475

Binding: Hardcover.

Grading: Fine copy in a near fine dustjacket.

Seller ID: 24604