The Changes (three volumes in slipcase: tv tie-in)

By: Dickinson, Peter

Price: £25.00

Quantity: 1 available

Grading: Fine (unread) copies as issued in near fine pictorial slipcase.

Tv tie-in. Three paperback reprints of the The Devil's Children, Heartsease and The Weathermonger (which make up the author's young adult The Changes trilogy) which were made into a BBC tv series in 1975. The three paperbacks came in a pictorial card slipcase featuring colour stills from the tv series.

''His most important contribution to sf lies in his parallel career as an author for younger readers and the Young Adult market, beginning with THE CHANGES trilogy: in order of internal chronology the novels are The Devil's Children (1970), Heartsease (1969) and The Weathermonger (1968); in an adaptation co-written by Dickinson, the sequence was televised by the BBC as The Changes (1975). The three books deal with the aftermath of an uncanny change in English life when the population suddenly turns against machines and adopts medieval superstitions. Dickinson's Sleeper Awakes explanation for this transformation in The Weathermonger - a drug-addled revived Merlin contaminates Britain (though not the outside world) through his panicked refusal of the modern - lacks much conviction, though it is tentatively suggested that Merlin is in fact a mutant gifted with vast Psi Powers. One of these talents, that of Weather Control, is also awakened in others - the titular weathermongers of the first-written book, including the protagonist - but only while Merlin's power remains active. The Devil's Children, where a twelve-year-old girl subject to the fear of machines is adopted by a band of travelling Sikhs who are immune to this hysteria, is more sensitive; Heartsease is a rousing action-adventure in which youngsters arrange the escape of a ''witch'' (an outside investigator who unwisely used radio communications) in an old diesel-powered tugboat which must negotiate a system of canal locks - some guarded by witch-hunters before reaching the sea'' (John Clute & Peter Nicholls & David Langford/Encyclopedia of SF, 3rd Edition).

Title: The Changes (three volumes in slipcase: tv tie-in)

Author Name: Dickinson, Peter


Edition: First edition thus (& 1st printing).

Publisher: Puffin/Penguin Books: London.: 1974.

Binding: Paperback original.

Grading: Fine (unread) copies as issued in near fine pictorial slipcase.

Seller ID: 47973