A Clockwork Orange.

By: Burgess, Anthony

Price: £250.00

Quantity: 1 available

Grading: Fine copy in a fine dustjacket but for a touch of edge wear.


SF novel, first published in 1962 and made into the 1971 film directed by Stanley Kubrick. The second printing was in 1970, and this 1972 third printing was presumably issued to tie in with the 1971 film, though the only mention as such is on the inner front flap/''A Clockwork Orange has now been filmed by Stanley Kubrick''. Whatever, this 1972 edition does seem to be rare.

''He remains best known for his first sf novel A CLOCKWORK ORANGE (1962), filmed by Stanley Kubrick as A Clockwork Orange (1971). A compelling and often comic vision of the way violence comes to dominate the mind, the novel is set in a dystopian Near Future London and is told in a curious but readable Russified argot by a juvenile delinquent whose eventual brainwashing by the authorities destroys not only his murderous aggression but also a deeper-seated sense of humanity (typified by his deep love for the music of Beethoven). It is an ironic novel in the tradition of Yevgeny Zamiatin's and George Orwell's anti-Utopias'' (Maxim Jakubowski & John Clute/Encyclopedia of SF, 3rd Edition).

Title: A Clockwork Orange.

Author Name: Burgess, Anthony

Categories: Other,

Edition: Third printing.

Publisher: Heinemann: London.: 1972.

ISBN Number: 0434098000

ISBN Number 13: 9780434098002

Binding: Hardcover.

Grading: Fine copy in a fine dustjacket but for a touch of edge wear.

Seller ID: 48190